Wellcome to National Portal
Main Comtent Skiped

এক নজরে


About SMP

Sylhet, the land of two leaves and a bud, blessed with the Mazar of the two great shrines named Hazrat Shahjalal (R.) and Hazrat Shahporan (R.) is the alluvial land of the river Surma and many small hills with tea gardens and natural forest having an immense tourists attractions. To meet up the increasing demand regarding security issues of the inhabitants of Sylhet city and its suburb areas, Sylhet Metropolitan Police (SMP) was formed on 26 August 2006. The total area of SMP is about 518.43 Sq.km including 27 wards of Sylhet City Corporation, 08 Unions of Sylhet Sadar Upazila and 10 Unions of South Surma Upazilla under Sylhet district. SMP starts its office activities from 26 October 2006 at Water Development Board rest house situated in Naiorpul point of Sylhet City. A part of the police barrack of Range Reserve Force (RRF), Sylhet has been transformed as the police lines of SMP. SMP ordinance, the 2nd ordinance of 2006; the Sylhet Metropolitan Police act 2009 published in 06th April 2009 enforced from 15th October 2006 are the legal basis of the unit. According to the act, SMP area is divided into six Police stations as Kotwali Model Thana, Jalalabad Thana, Airport Thana, South Surma Thana, Moglabazar Thana and Shahporan Thana. In terms of area it is the biggest Metropolitan Police unit of Bangladesh.

At the initial stage SMP starts its operation with two former police stations of Sylhet District, because the new Area of Responsibility (AOR) was not approved for the newly established six police stations. The new AOR getting all administrative approval of the government was published on 10th May 2011 and On 11August 2011, SMP starts its full strength operation through the inauguration of redistributed AOR of 06 police stations of which there are four new Police Stations.